• IFSQN Associate
  • 26 posts
  • 127 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 05 September 2016 - 04:28 PM

Preventive Controls Hazard Analysis form

Please critique and provide feedback. My thinking is to add a 3rd level of risk assessment.

1. greater or equal to 9: Most critical level = traditional CCP(process control)

2. greater or equal to 5: Regulatory Preventive Controls to control "Significant Hazards"

3. Less than or equal to 4: PRP's/GMP's control potential hazardsAttached File  Preventive Control Hazard Analysis 8 22 16.rtf   152.79KB   97 downloads

Jason

syju28380

Grade - AIFSQN

• IFSQN Associate
  • 47 posts
  • 14 thanks
Neutral

• India
    India

Posted 06 September 2016 - 03:53 AM

Hi Jason,

I am a beginner in Food safety and my comment may be silly; so apologies in advance. 

In the risk assessment, I believe multiplying "likelihood" and "consequence" to assess the" risk" (risk matrix) is more appropriate than adding them. 

As per this system, likelihood and consequence has to be 5 and 4 (or vice versa) to treat it as a CCP which I believe is not appropriate. 

Regards,

Syju

Jason Young

Grade - AIFSQN

• IFSQN Associate
  • 26 posts
  • 127 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 08 September 2016 - 04:29 PM

Syju,

Yes, I agree, using multiplication vs. addition may create a better risk assessment.  Multiplication should make the values /assessment more sensitive to the extent of likelihood or consequence.

I like the addition approach because it is simpler.  I am attaching the risk matrix that I use.  You can find many similar risk matrix online.  Some add and others multiply.

Attached Files

Thanked by 1 Member:

Charles.C

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Moderator
  • 20,542 posts
  • 5662 thanks
Excellent

• Earth
    Earth
  • Interests:SF
    TV
    Movies

Posted 09 September 2016 - 09:09 AM

Hi syju,