• Quick Navigation
Photo

Potential for harmful Bacteria in Coconut Cream Yoghurt?

Share this

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic
- - - - -

Sebbo64

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 1 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• Earth
    Earth

Posted 24 February 2015 - 06:34 AM

Hello Forum!

I'm producing a small number of coconut cream yoghurt and am interested to better understand the risk of any harmful bacteria forming during my production process since I want to make sure my process is absolutely safe and I have all necessary precautions in place.

I have no background in food science or microbiology and would much appreciate any guidance from anyone more educated in these fields than myself.

Here are the ingredients I'm using:

- Pasteurised Coconut Cream

- Raw Organic Honey

- Dairy free Acidophilus & Bifiobacterium

The ingredients get all mixed in a big pot heated to approx. 40 degrees, then filled into jars (new ones) to then incubate for approx. 12h

What is the risk of any harmful bacteria arising during this process?

Charles.C

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Moderator
  • 20,542 posts
  • 5662 thanks
Excellent

• Earth
    Earth
  • Interests:SF
    TV
    Movies

Posted 24 February 2015 - 09:24 AM

Hello Forum!

I'm producing a small number of coconut cream yoghurt and am interested to better understand the risk of any harmful bacteria forming during my production process since I want to make sure my process is absolutely safe and I have all necessary precautions in place.

I have no background in food science or microbiology and would much appreciate any guidance from anyone more educated in these fields than myself.

- Raw Organic Honey

The ingredients get all mixed in a big pot heated to approx. 40 degrees, then filled into jars (new ones) to then incubate for approx. 12h

Dear sebbo,

Offhand, i would imagine it depends on the bacteriological status of the raw materials / equipment  and the pH.

Rgds / Charles.C