• Quick Navigation
Photo

How would condensation over a production line be scored on audit?

Share this

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic
- - - - -

Willis Morgan

Grade - AIFSQN

• IFSQN Associate
  • 28 posts
  • 2 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 21 November 2018 - 03:38 PM

Hi, everyone. We have attained SQF certification this fall. It has been a big boost to my department and the company as a whole, and I want to continue to keep up to the standards for SQF and I want it to be a company mentality, not something we are rushing to get compliant on just before an audit.

Today we have a line operator in training and he forgot to turn on a ventilation fan in a process area and condensation started to form over the product line. The question I have is how this would be scored by an SQF auditor? I am pretty new to this world as such do not have a lot of experience in this and want to use this incident as training for our staff.

Ruthie1

Grade - AIFSQN

• IFSQN Associate
  • 30 posts
  • 7 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 21 November 2018 - 04:06 PM

I personally would note it in an corrective action form, or program of the like, and that the condensation did not come in contact with any food products, or product contact surfaces. If it did, then what did you do to correct the problem, and how did you remove the condensation in a sanitary manner?

If this is a mistake that occurs semi-frequently, then you may have to have a check-off of some sorts so that you have noted how to correct a reoccurring problem in the long run. 

The plant I work at has issues with condensation due to steam created by a shrink tunnel after the Cryovac machine. We ended up having to implement a condensation inspection to ensure no condensation is dripping on product. 

Scampi

Fellow

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 5,444 posts
  • 1507 thanks
Excellent

• Canada
    Canada