What's New Unreplied Topics Membership About Us Contact Us Privacy Policy
[Ad]

Is lipstick a GMP issue in the food industry?

Started by , Jun 21 2023 02:35 PM
9 Replies

Hey Team, 

I'm new to this industry and had a question. nail polish, fake nails, jewelry are all big no no's when it comes to GMP's. but what about make up and lipstick? what are the food industry standards when it comes to this???

Thanks everyone for all your support. 

KSsauceMan

Share this Topic
Topics you might be interested in
Food Fraud for Storage and Distribution Warehouse Any food product naming policy in EU? Storing food ingredients in same warehouse as food contact packaging Example of How to Assess Your Food Safety Culture Utilization of Grape Seeds and analysis of potential applications in the food industry.
[Ad]

The thought process is that fake nails break and nail polish chips off and they can end up in food.  Same with false lashes or jewelry.  We disallow all of that.  I'm not familiar with any case of other makeup falling or flaking off.  If it did, it would certainly fall into the same category.  It might be a case by case basis if someone has so much makeup on that it's falling off, it would need to be addressed.  

3 Likes
I can't recall hearing about any recalls or product withdrawals on this. I can't imagine that if lip chap sticks aren't an issue, lipstick would be.
YMMV

Make-up and lipstick policies vary by site in my experience. Personally I don't think they're too big of an issue and don't have any policy in place regarding their use. However, based on your own risk assessment you may develop alternate rules for your facility.

Any makeup with excessive glitter, rhinestones, etc that could potentially fall into food would also be a big no for me. Other than that, we don't have any policies regarding makeup.

1 Like1 Thank