What's New Unreplied Topics Membership About Us Contact Us Privacy Policy
[Ad]

Potable Water - Which Standards or Guidelines should I follow?

Started by , Feb 24 2006 07:22 AM
9 Replies
Hello,

I am new in quality management. Currently our food processing plant is aiming to register for ISO 22000. I understand that ISO 22000 is hormonizing the world food safety standard. I am not sure about the requirement of potable water, there are some standards/ guidelines for water quality. Which standards/Guidelines should I follow?

For example, Should I follow WHO Guidelines for drinking-water quality? Thank you.
Share this Topic
Topics you might be interested in
Potable Water COA SQF 11.5.1.2 Contigency Plans - potable water supply Can you use food grade potable water hose to process kool aid or gravy? What are the minimum chlorine levels that are acceptable in potable water? Potable Water Testing
[Ad]
Hello water,

Courtesy of google here are a few definitions of potable water:
http://www.google.co...e:Potable Water

You won't find any requirements for potable water in ISO 22000; the standard is not that prescriptive. I would consult your local or national regulatory body for the requirements for your particular country, process and product.

I found an article for further reading at the link below:
Safe Water is Critical for Food Processing

Hope this helps; let us know if you have any further questions.

I'm not an expert on this type of thing - correct me if I'm wrong experts.

Regards,
Simon

Hello,

I am new in quality management. Currently our food processing plant is aiming to register for ISO 22000. I understand that ISO 22000 is hormonizing the world food safety standard. I am not sure about the requirement of potable water, there are some standards/ guidelines for water quality. Which standards/Guidelines should I follow?

For example, Should I follow WHO Guidelines for drinking-water quality? Thank you.

Hello " water "