What's New Unreplied Topics Membership About Us Contact Us Privacy Policy
[Ad]

Mould limits in Bread

Started by , Dec 13 2018 08:59 AM
2 Replies

Hi everyone,

Long time user of the forum first time poster.

I am looking to find out what the standard microbiological limits of mould are for bread products?

I have all the data already for pathogens in relation to levels of safety but cannot find any information on moulds. I have trawled through all the topics.

Thanks 

Share this Topic
Topics you might be interested in
How to state Air / Yeast & Mould count ? Yeast and Mould Monitoring Control measures for preventing mould in jam Yeast and Mould Testing and Limit Requirements Is Yeast and Mould good enough for Ambient Air Testing?
[Ad]

As far as I am aware here are no legal standards for this as it's a quality not food safety issue:

These are the last figures I had when I worked in the bread industry:

Microbiological Testing Specification (start of life)

Target                Unacceptable                    Frequency

Bacillus spp                                 <10/g                     >100/g                             Survey

Yeasts & Moulds                        <100/g                  >1 x 103/g                        Survey

S.aureus                                        <20/g                      >100/g                          Survey

​However it does very much depend on your environment, formulation & declared product shelf life  because, unless you have a controlled atmosphere (most bakeries don't) you might give yourself unnecessarily strict standards.