Mrs. Mwamuye

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 1 posts
  • 1 thanks
Neutral

• Kenya
    Kenya
  • Interests:I am a food safety consultant based in Kenya under a firm called Farm to Fork.

Posted 15 October 2015 - 02:57 PM

I am implementing HACCP in a 5* hotel and I am a bit stuck at the product description. Do I take the Menu Item (Say Pork chops) and develop the product description that way? If yes (we are talking hundreds of Menu Items,

How do I go about it?, what should I include?

is it the preparation methods, temperatures at each point, holding requirements, ...that is above the labelling and consumer use requirements? 

I am not a hotelier, I am just a food safety consultant

Regards

Thanked by 1 Member:

jel

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 113 posts
  • 33 thanks
Good

• Mexico
    Mexico

Posted 15 October 2015 - 04:57 PM

as you well say, if you make a description of each product, you never end up; so the best option is to divide your products into two: products that require thermal processing, and those that do not require thermal processing. This is a classification that FDA is developing in place of his old classification of potentially hazardous foods. In the case of raw materials, also you should use ratings to avoid having to describe all that you could use.

Thanked by 1 Member:

Aliyu Angara

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 8 posts
  • 3 thanks
Neutral

• Nigeria
    Nigeria

Posted 15 October 2015 - 05:10 PM

@Mwamuye. I feel your pulse. End product description for a food service industry like the hotel can be pretty challenging. However, the way around it is simply to group menus or products into ''End Product Categories'' that present largely similar characteristics. For instance, you could describe products as follows:

1. Cooked food, served hot(consisting of - starch, seafood, meat, poultry, vegetable, etc.)

2. Cooked food, served cold, e.g, mixed salads, salmon terrine, cold chicken pieces, vegetable salads, egg salad