Jump to content

  • Quick Navigation

What is IFS Certification?

The IFS Standards currently comprise eight standards, which help users when implementing legal provisions regarding food and/or product safety, and quality issues. An IFS certification shows that the certified company has established system suitable for ensuring food and/or product safety, and that it has considered and implemented customer specifications. Certification is open to food manufacturers, brokers, logistics providers, manufacturers of household and hygiene products as well as wholesalers and retailers.

IFS Food - GFSI Benchmarked Standard

IFS Food is applicable to food processors and organisations that pack loose food products. IFS Food is is applicable to organisations where the product is "processed or handled", or if there is a danger of product contamination during the primary packaging.

IFS Global Markets Food

The IFS Global Markets – Food is a food safety assessment program for retailers and branded food products.

IFS Wholesale / Cash & Carry

IFS Wholesale / Cash & Carry Standard is applicable to wholesalers and cash & carry markets.

IFS Logistics - GFSI Benchmarked Standard

IFS Logistics is applicable to both food and non-food products and covers logistics activities, including loading, unloading and transportation.

IFS Global Markets Logistics

The IFS Global Markets Logistics is applicable to small and less developed logistics service providers.

IFS Broker

IFS Broker is applicable to companies primarily involved in trading activities and who select suppliers and purchase or trade in the goods which are then supplied to their own customers.


IFS HPC is applicable to household and personal care products.

IFS PACsecure - GFSI Benchmarked Standard

IFS PACsecure is applicable to primary and secondary packaging material manufacturers and converters