• Quick Navigation
Photo

Cream shelf life - does fat level affect length?

Share this

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic
- - - - -

J Young

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Associate
  • 16 posts
  • 1 thanks
Neutral

• United Kingdom
    United Kingdom

Posted 15 May 2009 - 12:04 PM

Hi All
New member!
I work in the food industry but am currently doing a dissertation on 'the effects of cream shelf life and its butterfat' at fat levels 18% single, 48% double and 56% clotted. I will be carrying out sensory analysis and micro analysis, just APC and enteros. I will be looking at trends in fat content a acceptability along with the effects of heat treatment levels, within the pasteurisation ranges. I will also look into the effects of homogenisation, used in single cream and any effects this may have.

hopefully i will be able to produce a guide for the shelf life prediction from APC taken from production date, with view of either reducing or extending dates.

Please if anybody has any information on cream shelf life, sensory analysis and the science behind them, i would be most thankful.
regards J

Charles.C

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Moderator
  • 20,542 posts
  • 5662 thanks
Excellent

• Earth
    Earth
  • Interests:SF
    TV
    Movies

Posted 15 May 2009 - 05:00 PM

Dear JYoung,

Welcome to the forum ! :welcome:

Interesting subject area (not mine unfortunately). May I enquire what the dissertation is being done for ? It has some influence on the necessary depths of study from my experience. My first reaction was that this is a pretty multivariable investigation. Looks like an ANOVA analysis coming up somewhere. :smile:

I presume you hv already defined the criteria / limits for shelflife acceptability ? Or are you at the “gathering info.” stage ?

There should be people here with experience in this area.

Rgds / Charles.C

Kind Regards,

Charles.C

SaRaRa

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 186 posts
  • 13 thanks
Neutral