• IFSQN Active
  • 1 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• United Kingdom
    United Kingdom

Posted 24 January 2011 - 01:48 PM

Hi Everyone

Here is a question from a level 3 Supervising Food Safety Paper. I am an instructor and feel this particular question is difficult and challenges me, never mind my learners:

It is best practice for drains to have?

a. Sufficient fall to allow solids and liquid waste to flow away
b. The direction of flow away from clean to dirty areas
c. Integrated grease traps
d. Double sealed inspection covers

Th reason it challenges me is the c and d answers both possibly being correct. Sprenger referrs to the integrated grease traps as debris traps; would you say these are one in the same?

Double sealed covers is another possible correct answer. My awarding body contact is not even sure as they claim not to be involved in writing the papers.

Let's get together on this one to see what people think. I personally over analyse such questions and end up pickling the heads of my students.

Many thanks to all...

Martin

GMO

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 2,915 posts
  • 733 thanks
Excellent

• United Kingdom
    United Kingdom

Posted 24 January 2011 - 01:54 PM

Ha! I would have said a and b are definitely correct for high care / high risk areas but I don't understand what c and d mean! I have Level 4 as well which is worrying!

A would be correct because if you don't have sufficient fall (ie sufficient angle) on drains, you will get pooling water.

B could be correct because if you have a high and low care (or high and low risk) area, you don't want drains leading into water which could be from (for example) raw meat run off in a cooked meat area, you would want the waste water from the cooked area to feed in first then to be joined with the raw meat waste once it's left the high risk department so that could be what they mean from "clean to dirty" but it depends on your interpretation.

gtjs

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 9 posts