• IFSQN Active
  • 4 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• Portugal
    Portugal

Posted 07 April 2009 - 09:30 AM

Hi!

First of all, congrats for your forum and sorry for my bad english. I hope that We help each others. I am studying a Food Engeneering Student at University of Porto and I am making a work about:

google translation:

Proceed to the identification and characterization of various food crises (Max 10) occurred in Europe in the last 20 years. 

For every crisis presents information on how consumers perceived the corresponding risk food, and the level of change in dietary habits.

I would like that you give me your opinion about what were the top 10 food crises in Europe in the last twenty years...

Any help or any affirmation or interaction will help me in this work

Examples of food crises: Disease "mad cow", The dioxin crisis,...

Thank you and congrats one more time. :rolleyes:

Charles.C

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Moderator
  • 20,542 posts
  • 5665 thanks
Excellent

• Earth
    Earth
  • Interests:SF
    TV
    Movies

Posted 07 April 2009 - 02:37 PM

Dear Carvalho,

Welcome to the forum ! :welcome:

I think yr first requirement will be to clarify what you mean by a food crisis. :smile:

Yr examples are health related incidents caused by food contamination.

But many food "crises" are caused simply by total lack of food supplies / natural disasters etc.

So are you refering only to contaminated food incidents?. If so, the logical follow-up is to categorise from numbers of fatalities or related statistics ? I believe such chronological data is available from sites like CDC ?

Rgds / Charles.C

Kind Regards,

Charles.C

GMO

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 2,849 posts
  • 726 thanks
Excellent

• United Kingdom
    United Kingdom

Posted 07 April 2009 - 06:00 PM

Blimey! Well it's a wide subject and it's worth looking at the fsa website for some ideas:

www.food.gov.uk