Grade - SIFSQN

• IFSQN Senior
  • 374 posts
  • 235 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States

Posted 12 November 2010 - 03:42 PM

Hi, I'm relatively new to SQF and am coordination the certification effort for my company. They want to get Level 3 certification, but due to the fact that we are co-manufacturers/co-packers and don't really sell anything retail it seem to me that Level 2 is where we should be shooting for. What do you SQF experts think?

Thanks in advance for any input.

ubtoo

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 6 posts
  • 3 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 12 November 2010 - 04:21 PM

Eventually your going to have to get Level 3....depending on your customers. Most of what I've seen and heard is if you only go for level 2...in the future your customer is going to require Level 3 soon after. Of course, this is your choice. Good Luck!

Thanked by 1 Member:

John Antecki

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Associate
  • 22 posts
  • 13 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 16 November 2010 - 11:14 PM

To be honest SQF Level three just incorporates both Level 1 & 2, plus the third level is a full on Food Quality Plan aka Quality control point using the HACCP method. so there will in the end be 2 HACCP plans one for Safety, and one for Quality. If your plant is HACCP certified and you got a great program a good plan template to use, (Where did you do you HACCP training?) and not a million products to copack then go for it!
We should keep in contact! i also work for a Contract manufacture.

esquef

Grade - SIFSQN

• IFSQN Senior
  • 374 posts
  • 235 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States

Posted 17 November 2010 - 07:01 PM