• IFSQN Active
  • 1 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• Canada
    Canada

Posted 08 February 2012 - 01:09 AM

Anyone and everyone,

A predictable question but the experienced have the benefit of hindsight which may be of great value.
I work in the confectionary industry as a QA Manager in Canada and the company corporate office based in the US wants to qualify all plants to GFSI.
I am being asked my opinion as to whether BRC or SQF would be my preferred choice.

My experience with BRC was that it was very particular to the point of excessiveness. It also proved costly due to the expenses the plant I worked at needed to invest to adhere to the standards. How does SQF compare?

Many thanks and have a great day!

herb b

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Associate
  • 19 posts
  • 6 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States
  • Interests:Things that go fast! Things that are complex. Food!

Posted 09 February 2012 - 11:46 AM

Hi, I don't have first hand knowledge of the SQF requirements. I am going through this process also. We have been performing 3rd party facility audits for a couple of years. Long story short, our audit company is stepping down from doing the 3rd party audit process. The new companies I have found all want to perform either the BRC or SQF audits, our choice. The information I have received is that the BRC is more tailored to our industry, while the SQF is more one size fits all? I would like to also know if that is really the case or dependent on who is actually performing the audit....

thanks, herb

Anyone and everyone,

A predictable question but the experienced have the benefit of hindsight which may be of great value.
I work in the confectionary industry as a QA Manager in Canada and the company corporate office based in the US wants to qualify all plants to GFSI.
I am being asked my opinion as to whether BRC or SQF would be my preferred choice.