• IFSQN Associate
  • 30 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 03 June 2013 - 06:44 PM

Hello,

I am a college intern working for a small oil and packing company. The company wants to become BRC certified and my job is to examine the current quality manual and fill in the gaps to get them BRC certfied audit ready. I am very new to this. Any suggestions or comments of where to start would be a great. Thank you!

WowQC

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 60 posts
  • 13 thanks
Neutral

• Canada
    Canada

Posted 03 June 2013 - 07:32 PM

Hello Lazlo,

Do you have a copy of the BRC code? That's the place to start. Interpretation guides are also available from BRC to assist you in understanding their requirements. These can be purchased from BRC.

http://www.tsoshop.co.uk/brcbookshop/

Reading through this website is also very useful. Here is the link to the BRC forum: http://www.ifsqn.com...rd-food-safety/

Happy reading!

Edgar J

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Associate
  • 17 posts
  • 3 thanks
Neutral

• Canada
    Canada

Posted 03 June 2013 - 08:01 PM

Hey Lazlo,

I am in a fairly similar situation but I am finding that If you follow the Standard and get a hold of the Interpretation Guidelines, it helps a lot!

Essentially make your way through each point and make sure you have everything that they are looking for in relation to what pertains to your company's work.

Have a pre-audit done as well prior to the actual BRC audit as it will give you a better idea of what they will look for and how the process unfolds.

This website is also a veritable treasure trove of information and help since you can traverse the forums and get help for each section via explanations of sections/clauses and examples of documents with how other company's implement the Standard.

Good Luck and Happy Audit Prep!

Charles.C

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Moderator
  • 20,542 posts
  • 5665 thanks
Excellent

• Earth
    Earth
  • Interests:SF
    TV
    Movies