Jump to content

  • Quick Navigation
Photo
- - - - -

SQF definition of identity preserved and gluten-free


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 Katja

Katja

    Grade - MIFSQN

  • IFSQN Member
  • 53 posts
  • 18 thanks
0
Neutral

  • Canada
    Canada

Posted 21 November 2013 - 04:08 PM

i'm pretty sure that i know the answer but after a lengthy discussion with my supervisor about the historical  definition of identity preserved as opposed to the SQF definition I would like to know if non-gluten falls under this category.  Historically the term identity preserved refereed uniquely to the altering of food genetically ie GMO foods and that had the unique genetic code of a food been altered then it was not identity preserved.  SQF's use of the term appears to refer to a label such as salt-free, peanut-free halal etc...The guidance document specifically refers to GMO, halal and kosher so i think that gluten-free also falls into this category.  I ask as we are asking about doing a gluten-free audit in combination with our SQF audit this year and i wanted to know if we needed to add anything to the program for this.  In the past although we produce gluten-free it does not have a crest for this and therefore this point was non-applicable for us.  In Canada theoretically if you follow the Food safety enhancement program as it relates to allergen control and consider gluten an allergen you essentially are abiding by local regulations which is the basic requirement for GFSI so what else is there to do in a gluten-free audit?

any help to these 2 questions would be helpful

thanks



#2 Tony-C

Tony-C

    Grade - FIFSQN

  • IFSQN Fellow
  • 3,361 posts
  • 992 thanks
263
Excellent

  • United Kingdom
    United Kingdom
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Koh Samui
  • Interests:My main interests are sports particularly football, pool, scuba diving, skiing and ten pin bowling.

Posted 23 November 2013 - 07:45 AM

Hi Katja,

 

Ref. SQF 2.8.1 General Requirements for Identity Preserved Foods - This clause is not applied at level 2 but the guidance states identity preserved foods are products that make a claim and you are making a gluten free claim so the requirements are applicable.

The requirements of 2.8.2 Allergen Management are also applicable.

 

A gluten free audit will consider your compliance with the above (the points made in the guidance are useful) and also 2.6.1 Product Identification & 2.6.2 Product Trace with consideration to your procedures/records for control of segregation, assurance of materials and mass balance of ingredients/finished materials.

 

Regards,

 

Tony






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

EV SSL Certificate