Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 74 posts
  • 54 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States

Posted 25 September 2014 - 09:02 PM

I am a newly hired QA Manager, preparing for a SQF Level 2 Desk Audit next month.  Because of the short time frame, vendor audits are the last thing on my to-do list.  I've been through a Level 2 Audit in a previous position, and I think I remember the auditor saying that if a food production facility had vendors/suppliers that had GFSI certification, the annual vendor audit by the food production facility was not required.  I've tried looking this up multiple ways online, but am coming up empty.  Has anyone heard of this?  And if you have, could you post the "chapter and verse" where it can be found?  Thanks!

RG3

Grade - PIFSQN

• IFSQN Principal
  • 501 posts
  • 169 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States
  • Interests:"We cannot solve our problems with the same thinking we used when we created them" Albert Einstein

Posted 25 September 2014 - 10:28 PM

I am a newly hired QA Manager, preparing for a SQF Level 2 Desk Audit next month.  Because of the short time frame, vendor audits are the last thing on my to-do list.  I've been through a Level 2 Audit in a previous position, and I think I remember the auditor saying that if a food production facility had vendors/suppliers that had GFSI certification, the annual vendor audit by the food production facility was not required.  I've tried looking this up multiple ways online, but am coming up empty.  Has anyone heard of this?  And if you have, could you post the "chapter and verse" where it can be found?  Thanks!

This topic was mentioned in another forum. You are good if they have a GFSI audit.

It will be under 2.4.5.5 A register of approved supplier and records of inspections and audits of approved suppliers shall be maintained.