• Quick Navigation
Photo

MSDS Compliance - when are they required?

Share this

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic
- - - - -

herdy

Grade - AIFSQN

• IFSQN Associate
  • 29 posts
  • 11 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 21 October 2015 - 02:10 PM

Hey everyone!

I am a QA Manager for a food packaging manufacturer. In our process to make trays, we use glue. Of course, we have a MSDS Sheet for this glue. Recently, we added a visual system that tracks how much glue is put on a tray and in order for it to track the glue, we have to add a UV tracking solution. I asked maintenance to get a MSDS Sheet for the tracking solution. They told me that it would be a pain to get a MSDS Sheet if we don't need it and it used to be (and maybe still is) that you only have to get a MSDS Sheet if it's at a high enough quantity/ percentage of the final solution. We are SQF Level 3 but I couldn't find it anywhere in the code. Does anybody know if there is some exemption like this? I could find nothing in the code and am having challenges online!

Thanks in advance!

gfdoucette07

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 167 posts
  • 112 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States
  • Interests:Food safety, QA, sharing my knowledge. Farming, growing, life

Posted 21 October 2015 - 02:36 PM

In my experience if it is in your facility you need an SDS for it, whether you used an once or 10k gallons, once an hour or once a year.

G

Thanked by 1 Member:

ladytygrr

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 203 posts
  • 65 thanks
Good

• United States
    United States
  • Interests:Reading, cycling, writing, camping, knitting, movies, music, family + pets, trying to play the guitar

Posted 21 October 2015 - 02:57 PM