Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 12 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 01 July 2016 - 08:34 PM

This is probably going to sound like an odd question on this formum, considering all the experience everyone seems to have.

I recently got asked to be on a Food Safety team at work, my background is in event planning and accounting. I have had experience at a previous job, but only in a limited sense. Now I am tasked with getting our facility certified with in the next 18 months. My colleges, on the team with me, have almost as much experience. One has worked in a certified facility before, but I don't think had much to do with the implementation or the daily operations (as they pertain to Food Safety).

I was wondering if any one had a good place to start. I have taken the HACCP training and plan to take the advanced HACCP soon. I am also debating getting my masters degree in food safety, though that couldn't start for at least 6 months.

Thank you for any advice you are able to provide.

Charles.C

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Moderator
  • 20,542 posts
  • 5665 thanks
Excellent

• Earth
    Earth
  • Interests:SF
    TV
    Movies

Posted 01 July 2016 - 10:31 PM

Hi lbk,

Welcome to the Forum ! :welcome:

May i ask as to the nature of yr food business ? "Processing" / Bottling honey ?

Kind Regards,

Charles.C

littlebkeeper

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 12 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 02 July 2016 - 12:41 AM

I am working with Extra virgin olive oil.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

littlebkeeper

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 12 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 02 July 2016 - 12:42 AM

We process and bottle.

mgourley

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 1,415 posts
  • 1002 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States
  • Interests:Cooking, golf, firearms, food safety and sanitation.

Posted 02 July 2016 - 01:13 AM