• IFSQN Active
  • 1 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• Earth
    Earth

Posted 19 July 2017 - 06:44 PM

Hi all,

I'm looking for some career advice and figured this would be a great place to ask. I'm currently the Director of Regulatory Affairs at a medium-sized supplement company that is growing very quickly. I have had a decent amount of success thus far, but I have always questioned whether I need additional credentials to continue to advance my career. I have a bacherlor's degree in business; nothing science-based like so many in quality/regulatory seem to have. The company is family-owned and places little emphasis on degrees or certificates. I wear many hats and have wide-ranging responsibilities including structure function claim substantiation, label review, technical document review, international product registration. However, as much as I love working for my company, I constantly think about the future. If I were to be fired or leave my position, I wonder if would be able to find a job elsewhere.

I've looked at a few options, including getting a master's degree in Regulatory Sciences. Would something like this benefit me? Are there any other things you can recommend that would help my career?

Thank you.

BrummyJim

Grade - SIFSQN

• IFSQN Senior
  • 329 posts
  • 117 thanks
Excellent

• United Kingdom
    United Kingdom
  • Interests:Motorbike gone now. Only the dog to walk!

Posted 20 July 2017 - 01:44 PM

Hi quest4593,

It depends on what you want to do over your career. You need to remember that a lot of regulatory, environmental and CSR (Corporate Social Responsibility) is a luxury. Not necessarily an expensive one, but it can be an area where cuts are made when times get difficult. Developing countries care less about regulations etc. than developed; during a recession, people care less about the environment (e.g. German reunification caused a change of focus from environmental matters to economic ones.