• Quick Navigation
Photo

Interviewing chefs - what are the standards?

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 dave4444

dave4444

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Associate
  • 3 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• Australia
    Australia

Posted 08 February 2020 - 03:09 AM

Hi everyone

Apologies in advance if this is not the correct place to submit this topic. I live in Melbourne, Australia and I am a safety advisor at a restaurant. I am in the process of assisting my organisation to open a new restaurant. They asked me this week if they are able to ask a chef to make them a meal and include it in the interview process. I asked them what they did in the Past as I am new to the organisation and their response was they weren’t aware of any consistent interview methods however they have the feeling the managers are making the applicants cook during the 2nd stage of the interview. I can understand that this is the correct method as the chefs require a skills test before they can get the job but it also is concerning what if the applicant sustains an injury.

The questions is if an organisation is liable for a claim if an applicant sustains an injury while cooking or performing skills test during the interview process?

Thanks everyone

#2 Charles.C

Charles.C

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Moderator
  • 17,385 posts
  • 4840 thanks
Excellent

• Earth
    Earth
  • Interests:SF
    TV
    Movies

Posted 08 February 2020 - 04:10 AM

Hi everyone