• Quick Navigation
Photo

Is there a Change Management clause in SQF 8.1?

Share this

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic
- - - - -

Rv16

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Associate
  • 8 posts
  • 1 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 20 July 2020 - 03:32 PM

Hello,

I am new to SQF. My previous experience has been around FSSC 22000, I remember in FSSC 22000 standard, we require to have some sort of Change Management process where QA/Food Safety Team must be informed of any changes to product, raw material, and equipment. I believe this was either in internal communication clause or its own clause. I no longer have access to the FSSC code (without having to pay to access) for me to confirm. However, I am perusing through SQF ver 8.1 and I cannot find similar requirement (which i find very strange). Am I missing something or is it just have different wording?

The reason I am asking is I've been fighting with the maintenance team to inform appropriate people (safety, QA, etc) when they put in a new piece of equipment or when they replace something in the equipment that is not a "replacement in kind." I was going to use SQF requirement as my ammo but I guess I cant find that requirement specifically.

Thanks

TimG

Grade - PIFSQN

• IFSQN Principal
  • 642 posts
  • 191 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States

Posted 20 July 2020 - 04:37 PM

Hey RV, I believe you are correct that there is no specific requirement for a change management plan SPECIFICALLY but there are quite a few references in the code concerning how to handle changes. The one that came to mind as fitting your purpose is tied in with the FSP (mandatory):