• Quick Navigation
Photo

Reusing and relabelling over original boxes (of another company)

Share this

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

ACKO

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 5 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• Canada
    Canada

Posted 13 August 2020 - 04:02 PM

Hi All, 

I would like to ask if any of you have been reusing boxes of other companies and putting your label over it. 

This sounds like a ridiculous question. I've been in the industry for a long time but this is my first time to deal with this kind of situation. 

The product is cauliflower. 

The company ran out of their original box. Their sister company is using cauliflower from different supplier for other purpose. They want to reuse the box of another company and put a sticker over it. 

My gut feel says this is like tampering and this is more of a legal issue than a food safety issue. The original box can not be fully covered. The original label are big and directly printed on the cardboard. The company just plan on putting a sticker over it. 

I tried to look at Canada labeling laws on Tampering and Food Fraud but I can't find a direct answer (or i may have missed it?)

It seems that the industry are reusing boxes? But maybe for internal use only. This one is to be sold to another distributor and I believe the distributor is selling the products to supermarkets. 

I am confused right now.

Thanks,

Acko

olenazh

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 1,364 posts
  • 439 thanks
Excellent

• Canada
    Canada
  • Interests:My job, church, reading, gym, horror movies

Posted 13 August 2020 - 05:03 PM

No, that's not right, they cannot do that. Well, if it was just plain boxes (e.g. white, grey, brown - whatever, but without company and/or product information) they could remove labels and stick their own. However, they definitely cannot place their own labels on the top of original labels. 

SQFconsultant

SQFconsultant

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 4,670 posts