Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 1 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 15 January 2021 - 06:49 PM

I'm fairly new at my company, and I'm currently trying to sort through conflicting documents/institutional knowledge regarding allergen storage. I work at a 3rd party storage facility that handles packaged and labeled product belonging to our customers. The previous food safety manager had written an allergen policy that prevents storing allergens above non-allergens, but does not address horizontal separation. A different document I found that is not part of our official SOPs (but has been used for training in the past) says that allergens must be stored a pallet width apart from non-allergens/other allergens. This rule is commonly referenced by long time employees, and is assumed to be a requirement despite not being in our food safety plan. The leadman in charge of our dry storage area is having a hard time finding room for all of the various products we've received while maintaining allergen segregation, so we are trying to clarify whether or not the 1 pallet space gap needs to be maintained. Is there any literature I can reference to help us decide what direction to go with our allergen management policy? We are in the US and SQF certified for Storage and Distribution. 

olenazh

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 1,363 posts
  • 439 thanks
Excellent

• Canada
    Canada
  • Interests:My job, church, reading, gym, horror movies

Posted 15 January 2021 - 07:30 PM

Sorry, I have no reference literature, however skid apart sounds too much separation. It's common sense: if you store allergen & non-allergen (or different allergens) beside each other provided they are packed properly and are not leaking/spilling - that would be completely sufficient. I've had that policy at all places I worked for, having different certifications, including BRC & FSSC, and it's always been acceptable by the auditors and even government inspectors.