• Quick Navigation
Photo

Having another Company produce food in our facility?

Share this

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

QA Ken

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 4 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 15 March 2021 - 05:43 PM

Hello! Long time lurker, first time poster. To preface, I am a newer QA Manager with roughly 5 years of experience. I have been working for a rather large wholesale bakery, for the past ~2 years. I'm basically saying, I'm still green. Normally, we produce tens of thousands of breads per day. Since last year, like many companies, our sales have been hit hard (few thousand bread per day. Today my boss tells me he was speaking with an acquaintance, who would like to rent out our facility during the off hours. They would be bring some equipment, their own staff and their own ingredients. They would need to conform to our SQF system, GMP, and sanitation standards. The more I think about this, there are risks. Boss says we'd hire an QA tech to supervise the operation, since they'd be coming in as a "second shift". Thoughts are kind of jumbled at the moment. Have any of you encountered 2 manufacturers sharing a facility? Or more like my situation where Company A rents out the facility during off hours to Company B?

SQFconsultant

SQFconsultant

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 4,668 posts
  • 1140 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States
  • Interests:Just when I thought I was out - They pulled me back in!!!

Posted 15 March 2021 - 06:27 PM

Hate to say this but I have seen this but it never worked out.

two companies - two different sets of values, two different sets of food safety culture

and then a surprize sqf auditor walks in the door on the shift where the visiting bakery working that night.

yes, that is what happened and it was bad.

All the Best,

All Rights Reserved,

Without Prejudice,

Glenn Oster.

Glenn Oster Consulting, LLC -