Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 94 posts
  • 4 thanks
Neutral

• Earth
    Earth

Posted 15 June 2021 - 05:38 PM

Hello, I am a QA Manager for a dietary supplement manufacturing company.  We recently have decided to change our "annual refresher" training for all employees as it is extremely outdated and we are going to an online platform.  Every year we would conduct refresher training on all safety and policies for the company.  Because we are changing over, we have not completed any new hire or annual refresher training for any of our current staff.  We do have an audit coming up next month and I am a little concerned as to what this will result in findings. I am wondering if it is mandatory that all new hires are trained immediately on specific modules.  I am also wondering if we cannot complete all training by the audit date what is the minimum refresher training that we need to conduct?  We may have been over killing the refresher training in the past so I am unsure how far down the rabbit hole I should go with this.  We are changing our training systems and there is only so much I can complete before the audit. Any help is appreciated. 

TimG

Grade - PIFSQN

• IFSQN Principal
  • 642 posts
  • 191 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States

Posted 15 June 2021 - 07:57 PM

I'm not exactly sure what the most recent code has changed, if anything, but a training needs analysis was required with the previous version. From the 8.1 guidance:

2.9.2 Training Program (Mandatory)

What the SQF Code says-An employee training program shall be documented and implemented. It shall outline the necessary competencies for specific duties and the training methods to be applied for those staff carrying out tasks associated with:

i. Developing and applying Good Manufacturing Practices;

ii. Applying food regulatory requirements;