Jump to content

  • Quick Navigation
Photo
- - - - -

Introducing myself


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

jmichaels89

    Grade - Active

  • IFSQN Active
  • 1 posts
  • 0 thanks
0
Neutral

  • United States
    United States

Posted 24 September 2021 - 04:47 PM

My name is Jordon Michaels and I am the QA Technician for a small creamery in Newville, PA. The creamery I work at is Reykjavik Creamery and we produce cultured dairy products such as yogurt, skyr, and quark. We also produce cream and sometimes butter. All of our products are done as a copacker. Only the cultured dairy products are within the scope of our SQF certification.

 

Even though my title is QA technician really I am the QA department due to how small we are. I've been in this position since January 2020, and roughly six months later we received our SQF level 2 certification. We recently had our annual audit and again passed.

On top of my QA responsibilities I also assist on the production line doing anything from packing boxes to helping run the filler.

 

My background is I went to Penn State University and received a B.S. in Food Science. I then worked for Keurig Dr Pepper for about 6 years in the quality department. It was a good learning experience due to the number of products the plant I worked at produced, but at the same time it limited my scope due to the size of the quality department. I then got the opportunity to work for the start-up Reykjavik Creamery I'm at currently. The experience has been incredible as I helped set up the quality department, got the facility SQF certified, and keep our other certifications such as Kosher and Organic in place. It's been challenging but so rewarding to see my current facility survive the pandemic and grow.

 



TimG

    Grade - PIFSQN

  • IFSQN Principal
  • 604 posts
  • 174 thanks
285
Excellent

  • United States
    United States

Posted 24 September 2021 - 05:03 PM

Hey Jordon, welcome to the forums!



emportllc

    Grade - Active

  • IFSQN Associate
  • 22 posts
  • 7 thanks
9
Neutral

  • United States
    United States
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Interests:gluten-free food, crossword puzzles, being outside

Posted 04 October 2021 - 06:21 PM

Welcome!



Emily Kaufman  
Emport, LLC
More safe food, more happy people

866.509.4482 • 718.717.2353
emilyk@emportllc.com • emportllc.com

 


detario

    Grade - AIFSQN

  • IFSQN Associate
  • 32 posts
  • 3 thanks
4
Neutral

  • Earth
    Earth
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Upstate New York

Posted 05 October 2021 - 03:46 PM

Welcome!



jkoratich712

    Grade - MIFSQN

  • IFSQN Member
  • 85 posts
  • 15 thanks
15
Good

  • United States
    United States
  • Gender:Female
  • Interests:Food, books, bakeries, coffee, HACCP, sanitation

Posted 05 October 2021 - 04:23 PM

Welcome! I am right down the road from you working in Chambersburg! This is a great forum and has helped me over the last 7+ years in my current role. And, of course ... WE ARE! 






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users