KBMB

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 68 posts
  • 2 thanks
Neutral

Posted 01 November 2021 - 05:09 PM

Hello all,

We are trying to introduce compressed air onto one of our packaging lines.  The compressed air will be used to blow air into our bags before product (cookies) are dropped in. We are a bakery and low risk.  The filters are 0.01 micron.  

I know that before we can use this new process, we need to validate that the compressed air is safe for use.

However, I am new to this and have no idea where to start.

I am not sure what to test for and how and how frequently before we can start using the air.

Do we test the air on a sponge? on a plate?

Do we have to send the finished product for testing?

Ho frequently do we have to conduct the testing?

What should we be testing for?

I am at a loss.

Please help.

Any direction, advise or information you could share would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

KBMB

Spidey

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 208 posts
  • 82 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States

Posted 01 November 2021 - 06:06 PM

Attached is a presentation over the use of compressed air in food facilities; it's from the 2018 SQF conference.

Attached File  Scherer_-_Compressed_Air.pdf   3.14MB   31 downloads

Edited by Spidey, 01 November 2021 - 06:06 PM.

Thanked by 1 Member:

Charles.C

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Moderator
  • 20,542 posts
  • 5666 thanks
Excellent

• Earth
    Earth
  • Interests:SF
    TV
    Movies

Posted 01 November 2021 - 06:33 PM

Attached is a presentation over the use of compressed air in food facilities; it's from the 2018 SQF conference.

attachicon.gif Scherer_-_Compressed_Air.pdf

Hi Spidey,

It's a nice document (thks) but I think the (SQF) filtration data shown is incorrect (thrice), eg the filtration recommended in SQF 8.1 guidance is 0.01 micron, not 0.1 micron.

Edited by Charles.C, 02 November 2021 - 04:54 AM.
edited

Kind Regards,

Charles.C

Thanked by 1 Member:

Spidey

Grade - MIFSQN