• IFSQN Active
  • 2 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• Earth
    Earth

Posted 03 April 2023 - 09:02 PM

Hi Everyone

Im new to the raw world...I have always worked in RTE.

With that said, I am looking for guidance on indicator organisms for the environment of a raw manufacturing appetizer plant.

The previous manager had Listeria Mono.  Both for food contact and non food contact as indicators.

I am not sure why, as it would not fall under CFIA's definition for RTE 2B.

I do not want to miss something in terms of the SQF requirements.

Am I correct in stating that the environmental program would be best monitored utilizing:

Swab--Aerobic Bacteria, Coliforms

Water samples

Air Samples

ATP

I know this has to be based on risk, but I am looking for some guidance on this.

Thanks

Charles.C

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Moderator
  • 20,542 posts
  • 5666 thanks
Excellent

• Earth
    Earth
  • Interests:SF
    TV
    Movies

Posted 03 April 2023 - 09:24 PM

Hi Everyone

Im new to the raw world...I have always worked in RTE.

With that said, I am looking for guidance on indicator organisms for the environment of a raw manufacturing appetizer plant.

The previous manager had Listeria Mono.  Both for food contact and non food contact as indicators.

I am not sure why, as it would not fall under CFIA's definition for RTE 2B.

I do not want to miss something in terms of the SQF requirements.

Am I correct in stating that the environmental program would be best monitored utilizing:

Swab--Aerobic Bacteria, Coliforms

Water samples

Air Samples

ATP

I know this has to be based on risk, but I am looking for some guidance on this.

Thanks

HI FSB,

afaik, in the context of EMPG, L.mono is not typically regarded as an "indicator". It's a specific pathogenic species.

again, afaik (not in Canada), the word "indicator" is primarily used for hygiene related organisms. (although, debatably, "Listeria" is sometimes regarded as an indicator for L.mono).