Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 1 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 01 March 2024 - 08:14 PM

I am a tech PM working on implementing a manufacturing system at an olive oil processing facility. The system they are currently using was created in-house and we are moving them to Infor M3.

They are telling us that the level of traceability that the new system provides is not sufficient because it does not include finished good transfers from one tank to the next. There is no blending or additional inputs conducted during the transfer but they insist that it's required for BRC certification because of environmental factors. 

We would be forced to create a custom report to provide them with this detail but I don't know if it's actually a certification requirement or just the way they built the in-house system? Is there someone who can help me verify if this is actually a requirement? Happy to provide more details.

pHruit

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 2,072 posts
  • 849 thanks
Excellent

• United Kingdom
    United Kingdom
  • Interests:Composing/listening to classical music, electronics, mountain biking, science, sarcasm

Posted 04 March 2024 - 08:22 AM

BRC is rarely that prescriptive - there is an overarching 'fundamental' requirement for the following:

The site shall be able to trace all raw material product lots (including primary packaging) from its suppliers through all stages of processing and dispatch to its customers and vice versa.