Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 3 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• United Kingdom
    United Kingdom

Posted 15 May 2024 - 02:21 PM

Good afternoon. I was hoping for some advice and guidance and this forum seems a great place to start!

I'm a consultant working with a UK storage and distribution business and they're looking to start working with clients in the drinks and foodstuff/perishables arena. 

The only processes they would undertake would be to potentially break down pallets for picking, packing and distribution purposes but they would never physically handle or touch the goods outside of the external packaging.

They've been asked about HACCP and BRC accreditation from potential clients and whilst I could find a host of companies offering the training, I need some guidance on getting them accredited. From what I've seen online, this is obviously a much lower level of requirements than if they were physically handling/processing the food.

There's processes currently in place around security, ensuring all workstations/floors etc are kept clean and monitored during the day and any dangers identified.

Can anyone provide details on a company that could assist with their accreditation or how to do this myself?

Any help would be really appreciated.

Thanks

pHruit

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 2,076 posts
  • 851 thanks
Excellent

• United Kingdom
    United Kingdom
  • Interests:Composing/listening to classical music, electronics, mountain biking, science, sarcasm

Posted 16 May 2024 - 07:15 AM

If they are storing food, they will be a 'food business' within the meaning of (the UK's assimilated version of) Regulation (EC) 178/2002, so the first thing they want to do is register as a food business with their local environmental health department: https://www.food.gov...r-food-business.