Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 4 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• Canada
    Canada

Posted 16 May 2024 - 03:30 PM

Hi, we are currently working towards BRC certification for food packaging. I am fairly new to this, so please excuse me if I am asking anything strange or dumb. We don't currently have any cleaning or sanitation procedures beyond the high risk surfaces and sweeping the floors but not on a schedule. If there is an obvious mess it gets cleaned up, but I was wondering if there are any guidelines or examples I could use in order to build a proper schedule/procedure.

I was also concerned regarding the floors. Right now we clean the floors by sweeping with a broom when we are able to, or when we notice that there is a mess. I am not sure if that is enough, considering that product isn't touching the floor directly. Any kinds of help/advice would be really appreciated. Thank you.

Scampi

Fellow

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 5,582 posts
  • 1534 thanks
Excellent

• Canada
    Canada

Posted 16 May 2024 - 03:53 PM

You could create a schedule using excel---list the items/area to be cleaned down one side, and the days of the week across the top and shade in what needs done when

you also need to create SSOP, standard SANITATION operation procedures. this tells the employee exactly what do do, how often, using what tools and/or chemicals

it doesn't need to be fancy, long to complicated BUT you do need to do what you say you will when you said you would

Please stop referring to me as Sir/sirs

Thanked by 1 Member:

jfrey123

Grade - PIFSQN

• IFSQN Principal
  • 703 posts
  • 196 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States

Posted 16 May 2024 - 04:18 PM