• IFSQN Active
  • 2 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• Malaysia
    Malaysia

Posted 27 January 2007 - 03:34 AM

Hi all,
I am new in saferpak. I just finished my adequecy audit for the iso 22000. In this topic, i put all the specification from the supplier for bacteria, chemical and physical aspect. However the auditor ask me to justify the nature of the ingredients and how i proof the ingredients do not have the hazard from food safety aspect (eg: bacteria look for pH, Aw, nutrients and temperature, chemical look into the allergen and additive)
I work in biscuits industry and have around 70++ ingredients, can i group them all? or must list 1 by 1? Anyone can share a better idea and guidline for this?
Thank you very much.

Jahanzeb

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Associate
  • 12 posts
  • 1 thanks
Neutral

Posted 27 January 2007 - 09:39 AM

Dear SLFU,
ISO 22000:2005 standard section 7.3.3.1 requires that "all materials, ingredients and product contact materials shall be described in documents......"
You need to describe al your raw materials, packaging materials and otther product contact materials to the extent required by the standard including the subsequent requirements from sub section a-h and any applicable statutory and regulatory requirements such as any restriction on the import of a particular ingredient etc.
In view of my auditing experience, its a tidious job to done but it is a one time pain which has to be taken because food safety should of prime focus. And we need to make sure that professionally and ethically we don't leave any grey area.
I know couple of the organizations which are in process of implementing the ISO2200:2005 standard and having the same issue and their experience showed that by grouping the material they missed few significant hazards which may adversely affect the effectiveness of the combinaiton of control measures.
I hope that this will help you in understanding the need and extent of the requirements.

Take care

Esther

• IFSQN Member