• IFSQN Associate
  • 15 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• United Kingdom
    United Kingdom
  • Interests:Football, Building Computers and Keep Fit at local gym

Posted 17 March 2005 - 04:00 PM

Hello everyone, I'm not a prolific letter writer but I need some advice.

Our CEO has communicated to the workforce a mission briefing on the vision for the company for the next few years. Although it was long overdue I thought this was a step in the right direction. An essential part of the vision relates to continuous improvement, productivity and efficiency. In my role as Quality Manager I am a lot more focused with regard to the part I can play in helping the CEO to realise his vision. I thought that highlighting continuous improvement rather than our usual, short-term focus, of getting as many items out through the door. The path would be smoothed over, resulting in more co-operation from the workforce on ‘quality' projects.

Whilst the briefing was a long awaited step forward the CEO stated that in our quest to be ‘lean and mean' we would lose 20% of the workforce over the next few years. He did make it clear however that the reduction would be from natural wastage and definitely not forced redundancies. Personally I wish he had not mentioned the reduction in staff. The problem I am finding now is that rather than concentrating on the 99% of positive things relating to the future the workforce have concentrated on the job reductions. This week when I tried to start a couple of factory based projects I got an even worse response than before, the concern and suspicion was clear. I tried explaining that around 6 people a year leave of their own accord and this would amount to 30 people within five years, I made some headway but still I know some mistrust remains.