Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 2,915 posts
  • 738 thanks
Excellent

• United Kingdom
    United Kingdom

Posted 03 February 2009 - 03:07 PM

I am seriously confused here. I've been a food professional for some years (Chemistry background before that) and I've come to the realisation over the past few weeks that I don't enjoy Technical Management. It's a frightening realisation. I particularly don't like the 'groundhog day' feeling of having the same problems in whatever food factory you visit (to varying degrees).

Hmm. I would love a job where I could use my brain (not just by capacity for endurance and working long hours.) Does anyone have any ideas?

MRios

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 157 posts
  • 11 thanks
Neutral

• Guatemala
    Guatemala

Posted 03 February 2009 - 05:28 PM

Hi GMO!
Scary realization, huh? Especially after a bunch of years doing the same thing?
Just so you know you´re not alone, I must confess I have fantasies of setting up my own chocolate shop, making the chocolate from local organic cacao beans, a process I haven´t the slightest idea about.
Have you thought about going into scientific research, or even research and development? How about setting up your own food related business, not as a consultant, mind you, but what about becoming one of those "deconstructionist" chefs (I´m not sure if that´s what they´re called). You know, one of those guys who makes clear tomato soup by centrifuging tomato juice, or simultaneously hot and cold drinks.
Good luck redirecting your career!

AS NUR

Grade - PIFSQN

• IFSQN Principal
  • 582 posts
  • 60 thanks
Neutral

• Indonesia
    Indonesia

Posted 04 February 2009 - 12:49 AM

HOw about journalist.. GMO.. I think you can use your knowledge to analize some problems and give the people enlightment...

Simon

IFSQN...it's My Life

• IFSQN Admin
  • 12,849 posts
  • 1365 thanks
Excellent

• United Kingdom
    United Kingdom