Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 3 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 15 June 2010 - 02:42 PM

I'm just beginning to implement an SQF system into a candy distribution center and thus I'm trying to create a HACCP plan. In my plant we recieve candy from suppliers in bulk, repackage it, and distribute it. When I am documenting my finished product specs I am including packaging info, strorage, distribution, shelf life, and allergy info. However, I also keep hearing from various sources that microbiological and chemical information (i.e. acidic level) should be included. It would require a lot of work for us to access this information from suppliers. The suppliers we buy from all have some form of accredidation in food safety from various third party auditing bodies. I am going to also include a section in the SQF and HACCP plan on supplier approval protocol.

My quesiton is if we do not create any product in house and simply store and package it, do I need to include microbiological and chemical information for the product or does our suppliers accredidation and our supplier aproval protocol as well as our strorage, tracking and cleaning practices serve as good enough prerequisits to eliminate the need for us to have on record such information?

Charles.C

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Moderator
  • 20,542 posts
  • 5662 thanks
Excellent

• Earth
    Earth
  • Interests:SF
    TV
    Movies

Posted 15 June 2010 - 04:26 PM

Dear Alex,

In my plant we recieve candy from suppliers in bulk, repackage it, and distribute it.

Hv no direct experience with SQF or repacking-only procedures but i can offer an opinion based solely on manufacturing experience.

You don't describe the process in detail but if I understand correctly, the above requires you to open bulk packaging thereby "exposing" the contents to the environment, transfer the contents into a hopper (?) or manual system and then carry out a repacking / subpacking.