• IFSQN Active
  • 3 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• Netherlands
    Netherlands

Posted 18 December 2010 - 12:56 PM

Hi everybody,

My name is Martin and I am a student at Wageningen University in the Netherlands. Curently I am working on my master thesis on optimization of perishable products production. To describe it shortly, I need to incorporate perishability (decline in quality) of (food) products to models that determine optimal production plans.
I came to a point where my model is forumlated but I need some data for my examples (of course I made up some data just to test the model, but I cannot put that into my thesis).
The most suitable way of describing this decrease of quality, for the model, is to translate it into decreasing price for the product. In other words I am interested how much a customer/retailer is willing to pay for the same product when it's e.g. 3, 5 or 10 days before expiration date.
The group of products can be anything from 'fresh' but processed groups (e.g. packed vegetables, processed meat or organic juices etc.). It has to be a group of similar products, which are processed on one kind of machine (like packaging machine), but not necessarily of the same durability.

Does anyone know where can I find this kind of data? Whom to ask for it?

Thanks in advance,
Martin

GMO

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 2,849 posts
  • 726 thanks
Excellent

• United Kingdom
    United Kingdom

Posted 18 December 2010 - 02:23 PM