Grade - AIFSQN

• IFSQN Associate
  • 45 posts
  • 16 thanks
Neutral

• United Kingdom
    United Kingdom

Posted 02 June 2011 - 04:47 PM

I am a technical consultant assisting a donner and chicken kebab manufacturing company in achieving BRC certification to the Global Food Standard. The company manufacture raw frozen donner and chicken kebabs and also cooked donner and chicken kebab meat. They therefore have a segregated high care area for slicing and packing the cooked products, so the process involves the raw kebabs being placed into the oven on the low risk side and then removed in the high care side.

However, they have now introduced a new process where the raw frozen kebab cones are cooked on rotary spits in the high care area, and the meat is sliced off the cone as it cooks, which is the traditional way of cooking and serving donner kebab meat.

My concern here is the issue of the frozen raw kebabs being taken into the high care area. I would value opinions on whether this would be seen as acceptable practice according to the BRC clause requirements for high care area procedures.

Madam A. D-tor

Grade - PIFSQN

• IFSQN Principal
  • 644 posts
  • 230 thanks
Excellent

• Netherlands
    Netherlands
  • Interests:meat, meat products, ready to eat, food safety, QMS, audits, hazard analyses, IFS, BRC, SQF, HACCP, ISO 9001, ISO 22000

Posted 06 June 2011 - 12:16 PM

Dear Skye,

I have some questions about this new process:
- Do they reheat the product after slicing?
- Ho do they make sure the only slice cooked meat?
- How do they guarentee the core temperature of the product?
- How and where do they pack the product?
- is it a fresh (chilled) or a frozen finished product?

Edited by Madam A. D-tor, 06 June 2011 - 03:31 PM.

Kind Regards,

Madam A. D-tor

GMO

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 2,849 posts
  • 726 thanks
Excellent

• United Kingdom
    United Kingdom

Posted 06 June 2011 - 02:20 PM