• Quick Navigation
Photo

Is Glass and Brittle Plastic policy enough?

Share this

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic
- - - - -

louintx

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 7 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 14 September 2011 - 03:27 PM

Hi Everyone!! I'm new to this network and this is my first post!! Posted Image

We recently had an audit and one of the points the auditor kept insisting on was that we had a lot of windows. I know that when we get our scores back that is gonna be a deficiency. The building is an old style produce warehouse and yes there are a lot of windows but the majority of them are around the building and not anywhere near the travel path of our product. There are some windows that are close to our production area and those have been screened. We have a glass and brittle policy and our frequency of monitoring is done daily. I thought that this would have been enough to satisfy the audit but apparently the auditor was not satisfied and suggested that ALL our windows have some sort of containment system. In my opinion I don't feel like we need to contain the other windows because they are low risk but I'm not sure. If anyone has any suggestions or comments I would really appreciate them. Thanks!!

Louie

Griffin

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 2 posts
  • 1 thanks
Neutral

Posted 14 September 2011 - 07:42 PM

Hello Louie,
I have been through a few SQF audits and we had similar issues near our production area with doors and clocks. We laso have a glass and ceramics program. What we did was take the glass covers from the clocks and we applied tinting material to the glass on the doors. This action satisfied the auditors, due to the material being applied would prevent the glass if broken from shattering. Maybe you could have this application done to your windows for a quick and economical fix. Hope this helps.

Thanked by 1 Member:

louintx

Grade - Active