• Quick Navigation
Photo

Do I need to declare moisture loss on packs?

Share this

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

aps

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 166 posts
  • 4 thanks
Neutral

• United Kingdom
    United Kingdom

Posted 19 September 2011 - 09:03 PM

Can someone clarify as I am a bit rusty.....

Moisture loss! do we need to declare this when applying weights on packs.

I will try and be more clearer on this

I work in the potato industry and as you will know the potato is full of water. Over the shelf life period the moisture loss will be x amount %. I was in this industry almost 9 years ago and we would declare moisture loss.

I have spoken to the tech manager and he says we do not need to declare as part of the tare weight as when it in the cust hands its not our responsibility in which I disagree. As far as I am aware the product should remain above the declared weight for the specified shelf lifre of the product...

Pleas help me can someone make this more clear to me.

thanks

Potatogal

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 1 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 20 September 2011 - 12:22 PM

I am the environmental health supervisor for a potato farm, and we do not declare the moisture loss. We add 2-5 lbs to our packages in anticipation of that loss.

Can someone clarify as I am a bit rusty.....

Moisture loss! do we need to declare this when applying weights on packs.

I will try and be more clearer on this

I work in the potato industry and as you will know the potato is full of water. Over the shelf life period the moisture loss will be x amount %. I was in this industry almost 9 years ago and we would declare moisture loss.