Gillian Patterson

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 2 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• United Kingdom
    United Kingdom
  • Interests:Honours year Food and Consumer Science student at the University of Abertay, Dundee.

Posted 20 October 2011 - 09:05 PM

Hello all! :bye:

I am in my fourth year at Abertay uni in Dundee studying food and consumer science. I though I'd come here to ask for a little advice and look for some information and ideas on my dissertation topic. I am currently writing my draft proposal and my ideas are changing as I go along.

I plan on looking at the evolution of HACCP and food safety management systems. I wonder if most people will be shocked at this, as I think I am one of few people in the world who actually enjoy the concept of HACCP :) I really enjoy HACCP and fsm, earlier this year I did a placement in a technical role which involved me even writing a HACCP plan.

My plan is to specifically state all the changes that have happened to the haccp system since the 1970's, with a little bit about how it was developed in the 1950's, the growth from three to five principles, and the changes of CCP1/CCP2/CP and PRP's.

I think I would also like to have a look at the future of haccp and fsm and what we could be focusing on in the future with maybe the addition of new principles, possibly focusing on validation?

I would also like to state some of the main food illness outbreaks that have affected the UK (and maybe the US) over the years focusing on reaction time. If anyone can help me with finding out what these are I hope that's not cheating :whistle:

This does seem like a lot of information! Well if anybody has any views on the above or anything to say really I'd appreciate it!

Thanks, Gill

Charles.C

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Moderator
  • 20,542 posts
  • 5665 thanks
Excellent

• Earth
    Earth
  • Interests:SF
    TV
    Movies

Posted 21 October 2011 - 12:20 PM

Dear Gillian,