• Quick Navigation
Photo

Does gluten in flour change in quality during storage?

Share this

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic
- - - - -

doughlas

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 1 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• Earth
    Earth

Posted 03 March 2012 - 04:58 AM

Hi Everyone,

I am new to the flour milling industry and have this question as I was going through the customer complaints -

Does gluten in flour change in quality (i.e. weaken in gluten strength / reduce in gluten content / etc...) during storage of the flour?? If gluten in flour does deterioate over time, is there any guideline in the deteriorating rate?

Thank you very much!

Doughlas

GMO

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 2,849 posts
  • 726 thanks
Excellent

• United Kingdom
    United Kingdom

Posted 03 March 2012 - 06:57 AM

I'm new to this but certainly flour made from stored grain seems to be better than fresh grain. At the change in seasons around September / October, you get quality issues, e.g. low volume, poor oven spring etc which then has to be compensated for with additional gluten or improver (if you can) and approximately 6 months after harvest the bread is at it's "best" quality and you often find you have to reduce improver level.

I don't think there's a formula for it but certainly from colleagues who have 30 years + experience that this is normal.

I've also worked with biscuit flours in the past and similar issues have arisen with poor quality immediately after harvest. I suspect it must be something to do with natural enzyme activity and moisture content of the fresher grain.

Thanked by 1 Member:

saqibfst

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 58 posts
  • 10 thanks
Neutral

• Pakistan
    Pakistan

Posted 03 March 2012 - 09:03 AM