• Quick Navigation
Photo

Allergen risk assessment considering Allergenicity?

Share this

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

Martinblue

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 141 posts
  • 12 thanks
Neutral

• United Kingdom
    United Kingdom

Posted 02 April 2012 - 04:38 PM

Dear all,

I am in process of doing Allergen risk assessment in the bakery mainly for gluten cross contamination as we also produce gluten free products along with products containing, nuts, milk, egg, soya and sesame seeds.

Have any one got any template doc for Allergen risk assessment considering Allergencity (Physical form/potency/protein content) of the allergen.

I look very much forward to hear from you.

Regards

Martinblue

D-D

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 239 posts
  • 55 thanks
Neutral

• Canada
    Canada

Posted 03 April 2012 - 12:55 PM

Very interesting question. I am no expert and look forward to more enlightening replies than this one but I would have thought you need to assess the likelihood of cross-contamination, validate cleaning methods etc and decide on labelling requirements. I guess "may contain" may feature heavilly (?).
While certain allergens such as nuts, peanuts and sesame are recognised to be more serious than others and allergenic proteins can be quantified in some cases, I would have thought that you would not be able to rank the seriousness of "allergenicity" as the repsonse from a sufferer will vary depending on the individual. For example, someone with a serious milk allergy may have more problems than someone with a mild nut allergy.

Thanked by 1 Member:

Martinblue

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 141 posts
  • 12 thanks
Neutral

• United Kingdom
    United Kingdom

Posted 07 April 2012 - 04:15 PM

Hi D-D,