• Quick Navigation
Photo

Is employee assessment required when giving Food Safety Training?

Share this

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic
- - - - -

Waferthin

Grade - AIFSQN

• IFSQN Associate
  • 27 posts
  • 3 thanks
Neutral

• Earth
    Earth

Posted 14 August 2013 - 02:36 PM

Hi all,

Just wondering when giving food safety training to staff on site do they have to complete an assessment or is suffice to sign them off as trained?  We work to BRC and TFMS standards, I am relatively new to the company but I see in the past they have just been signed off as been trained rather than assessed like other training.  This was also the case with on-site HACCP training although we have since a few employees on the certified HACCP course.

Thanks in advance!

maara91

Grade - AIFSQN

• IFSQN Associate
  • 37 posts
  • 24 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States
  • Interests:HACCP, BRC, FOOD SAFETY,

Posted 14 August 2013 - 06:15 PM

We add a Supervisor review part to the training, so supervisors can actually assess their employees.

Thanked by 1 Member:

esquef

Grade - SIFSQN

• IFSQN Senior
  • 374 posts
  • 235 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States

Posted 15 August 2013 - 02:58 PM

I'm not familiar with TFMS standards, and not a trained on BRC standards, but with SQF (and I suspect all GFSI schemes) a facility is required to validate that training is effective. For classroom type training tests/quizzes are a good way of acheiving this. On the job training is typically done by observation from production management, so validation could be signed off by a floor supervisor for example (as mentioned by maara91).

Verification is generally done by having the trainees sign and date that they were trained, and a spreadsheet showing frequency of testing (defined in your FSMS) and training status of each employee has been valuable in my experience.

Edited by esquef, 15 August 2013 - 03:02 PM.