Jump to content

  • Quick Navigation
Photo

Is Stout an Allergen?


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

trubertq

    Grade - PIFSQN

  • IFSQN Principal
  • 658 posts
  • 278 thanks
137
Excellent

  • Ireland
    Ireland
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Donegal

Posted 01 March 2014 - 07:59 PM

Stout is not on the list of 13, but I have read somewhere that because it uses malted barley there is gluten present. Can anyone clarify? 

 


I'm entitled to my opinion, even a stopped clock is right twice a day

Slab

    Grade - SIFSQN

  • IFSQN Senior
  • 428 posts
  • 201 thanks
100
Excellent

  • United States
    United States
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Heel of the Boot
  • Interests:Reading (history, science fiction), Photography, drawing,food safety, metrology, TQM, hoplology, etc.

Posted 01 March 2014 - 10:35 PM

Hi, trubertq;

 

Gluten intolerance is not an allergen.

I believe the main difference between gluten intolerance and a wheat allergen is the proteins (glycoprotein vs. globulin and albumin) and the reaction of anaphylaxis.  


Food Safety News  Marine Stewardship Council

 

"Some people freak out when they see small vertebra in their pasta" ~ Chef John


Setanta

    Grade - FIFSQN

  • IFSQN Fellow
  • 1,318 posts
  • 322 thanks
275
Excellent

  • United States
    United States
  • Gender:Female
  • Interests:Reading: historical fiction, fantasy, Sci-Fi
    Movies
    Gardening
    Birding

Posted 03 March 2014 - 03:47 PM

I am not sure how you are asking this question...is it for labeling purposes, would you like to drink a beer?

 

Barley has gluten.  So if you have Celiac disease, you may want to steer clear of it. 

(Celiac Disease, gluten intolerance, and wheat Allergies. Gluten is a protein in wheat (all kinds, including spelt, Kamut® khorasan, einkorn and farro/emmer), barley, rye and triticale (a rye/wheat hybrid) that is hard for some people to digest.)

 

If it clearly listed on the label from an allergen standpoint, I feel you should be OK.

 

Setanta


-Setanta         

 

 

 


SQFconsultant

    SQFconsultant

  • IFSQN Fellow
  • 3,935 posts
  • 985 thanks
883
Excellent

  • United States
    United States
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:American Patriot
    WWG1WGA
    Never give up, never give in - always win!
    Finally beginning the process of heading home to Oak Bluffs on Martha's Vineyard Island off the coast of Massachusetts

Posted 04 March 2014 - 02:16 AM

Might not be on the list of 13, however the UK made Heineken do a recall because of gluten/barley content and they declared it as an allergy alert here:

http://tna.europarch.../2010/mar/stout


Kind regards,
Glenn Oster
 
Glenn Oster Consulting | SQF System Development, Implementation & Certification Consultants
XLM, XRP and Foreign Currency Consulting | Restaurant & Hotel Business Consultant | eConsultant
 
 
 
 
 

trubertq

    Grade - PIFSQN

  • IFSQN Principal
  • 658 posts
  • 278 thanks
137
Excellent

  • Ireland
    Ireland
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Donegal

Posted 04 March 2014 - 03:01 PM

It's used in a product made by a client and has not been declared on the allergen list. Neither has it been put through the allergen risk assessment

 

That's why I am asking the question.....oh and I am also asking the question for my own information for future reference


I'm entitled to my opinion, even a stopped clock is right twice a day

Slab

    Grade - SIFSQN

  • IFSQN Senior
  • 428 posts
  • 201 thanks
100
Excellent

  • United States
    United States
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Heel of the Boot
  • Interests:Reading (history, science fiction), Photography, drawing,food safety, metrology, TQM, hoplology, etc.

Posted 04 March 2014 - 09:01 PM

Hi, trubertq;

 

What allergen list do you mean?  Internal or regulatory?  Have you referenced FSAI for any guidance?

https://www.fsai.ie/faq/allergens.html

 

I haven't been able to find anything about beer other than isinglass.

Actually I'm beginning to feel like a dinosaur to the allergen mania.  Garlic is now an allergen?   :yeahrite:


Food Safety News  Marine Stewardship Council

 

"Some people freak out when they see small vertebra in their pasta" ~ Chef John


trubertq

    Grade - PIFSQN

  • IFSQN Principal
  • 658 posts
  • 278 thanks
137
Excellent

  • Ireland
    Ireland
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Donegal

Posted 05 March 2014 - 09:11 AM

I mean the Internal allergen list Slab... and you are not alone regarding the allergen thing.

 

I have referenced everything I could and could not find a  definitive outcome. When did Garlic become an allergen? :headhurts:


I'm entitled to my opinion, even a stopped clock is right twice a day

Charles.C

    Grade - FIFSQN

  • IFSQN Moderator
  • 19,503 posts
  • 5408 thanks
1,342
Excellent

  • Earth
    Earth
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:SF
    TV
    Movies

Posted 05 March 2014 - 11:49 AM

Dear trubertq,

 

Garlic seems to be problematic, eg

 

http://en.wikipedia..../Garlic_allergy

but

http://www.hc-sc.gc....o/index-eng.php

 

Rgds / Charles.C


Kind Regards,

 

Charles.C


Slab

    Grade - SIFSQN

  • IFSQN Senior
  • 428 posts
  • 201 thanks
100
Excellent

  • United States
    United States
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Heel of the Boot
  • Interests:Reading (history, science fiction), Photography, drawing,food safety, metrology, TQM, hoplology, etc.

Posted 06 March 2014 - 08:12 AM

Charles has kindly linked to the article, and it would appear in some very rare cases of anaphylactic reaction has been observed.  

 

I'm still a bit confused as to gluten being listed as an allergen with beer.  However FSAI list the first allergen as;

 

 

  • Cereals containing gluten and products thereof

"products thereof" beer?

 

I feel like I need a degree in law on top of other qualifications for food safety.  :unsure:


Food Safety News  Marine Stewardship Council

 

"Some people freak out when they see small vertebra in their pasta" ~ Chef John


RuiM

    Grade - MIFSQN

  • IFSQN Member
  • 58 posts
  • 16 thanks
4
Neutral

  • Portugal
    Portugal
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Minho

Posted 06 March 2014 - 06:22 PM

Stout is not on the list of 13, but I have read somewhere that because it uses malted barley there is gluten present. Can anyone clarify? 

 

trubertq,

 

As already someone said above, Barley and Malt are harmful to celiac sufferers. However, I don´t know if during the process of beer production, the amount of barley protein is reduced to levels that could be considered "still harmful"...

 

Sulfur dioxide is also other allergen that could be associated to beer. Usually is used like preservative or antioxidant. In beer, I think the main function is to protect from flavours modifications.

 

Rgds.



moskito

    Grade - SIFSQN

  • IFSQN Senior
  • 410 posts
  • 84 thanks
20
Excellent

  • Germany
    Germany
  • Gender:Male

Posted 08 March 2014 - 05:46 PM

HI

 

Slab is right

Cereals containing gluten and products thereof -> beer is a product of ...

-> gluten might be still in the product

-> to be not covered by the law excemption is needed

 

from the legal point of view gluten is the target (-> to cover the intolerance see. Lactose) and not an allergen from wheat

 

Rgds

moskito



fgjuadi

    Grade - PIFSQN

  • Banned
  • 898 posts
  • 202 thanks
28
Excellent

  • United States
    United States
  • Gender:Male

Posted 09 March 2014 - 01:57 PM

This gave me a headache when I worked in a factory that processed barley, soy, and wheat and made gluten free claims. 

 

Malted Barley was a major ingredient in our finished product.  It has the protien that causes the wheat allergy reaction.

We tested all of our gluten free product before shipment for gluten. 

 

Sometimes our SOY would have the protien becuase it was grown in a field next to wheat (according to the supplier).  I don't know about the beer making process, but our internal process had a step which hydrolized the protein, making it undetectable thorough ELISA protein ananlysis.  We tried to push gluten free responsibility to the suppilers as much as possible and tested raw materials for it as well.

 

Just curious - did you test the malted barley or finished product to see if it had gluten in it? 

-MM


Edited by magenta_majors, 09 March 2014 - 01:57 PM.

.--. .- -. - ... / --- .--. - .. --- -. .- .-..




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users