• Quick Navigation
Photo

What does the inspector expect to see in a Written Policy?

Share this

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic
- - - - -

paconmatt

Grade - AIFSQN

• IFSQN Associate
  • 33 posts
  • 1 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 29 April 2014 - 10:24 PM

I have been asked to be a food safety coordinator and creator and I have no prior experience.  My company makes food contact packaging but we handle no food products and we are trying to pass our first AIB audit and inspection.  Here is my question:  What do the inspector expect to see in a Written Policy?  Can I simply state that our goal is to make clean, sanitary, unadulterated product?  Or do I have to get into a bunch of legal stuff such as the Food Modernization Act of 2011.  In the consolidated standards it talks about producing safe and legal foods but all we do is manufacture food contact packaging.

Edited by Charles.C, 05 May 2014 - 11:12 PM.
moved aib forum

imadoughguy

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 51 posts
  • 13 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States
  • Interests:Building Redemptive Relationships, Self Improvement, Cars, Fishing, Home Improvement, Serving Others and Seeing Positively Impacted People in my Wake. :-)

Posted 30 April 2014 - 03:24 AM

paconmatt,

I'm not sure if i should offer congratulations or condolences on your new job responsibilities. LOL :-)

A written policy should state several things, depending on what part of the food safety plan you are addressing. Are you talking about your Quality Statement or is it your policy on Food Safety?

For AIB you will need 20 or so "Written Policies" addressing everything from start (specification policy) to finish (distribution policy).

You can download the AIB Consolidated Standards and pretty much figure it out from that. If I recall the standard spells out pretty plainly what policies and records you need.