• Quick Navigation
Photo

Suitable Cabinet Materials for use in Production Areas

Share this

Best Answer , 10 July 2014 - 10:30 PM

I often used the tall Rubbermaid type of cabinets.  They won't rust, are not reactive to chemicals and you can find brands that are much cheaper than Rubbermaid.  They can also be locked up if need be. 

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic
- - - - -

Caboose

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Associate
  • 16 posts
  • 8 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 10 July 2014 - 06:08 PM

What can cabinets be made out of in the main production area? We are looking to install some lockable cabinets (for holding sanitizes/tools) in the production area so I want to find out what they can be made of (or more importantly if there is something they can't be made of). I was thinking a regular steel cabinet since it won't be zone 1 or 2, but I wanted to double check since I'm relatively new at this.

Snookie

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 1,625 posts
  • 267 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States

Posted 10 July 2014 - 06:27 PM

Depends on the environment.  Most likely steel is your best choice, but if a wet environment you may want a plastic material. 

More information is needed to be of help.  What type of products, what kind of environment?

Posted Image
Live Long & Prosper

Caboose

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Associate
  • 16 posts
  • 8 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 10 July 2014 - 06:39 PM

We package dry powders, the bottom could get wet from mopping but there will not be any kind of spray water cleaning. If water did become a problem are there any kinds of plastics that can't be used/are there any cabinets you recommend?

Snookie

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 1,625 posts
  • 267 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States

Posted 10 July 2014 - 10:30 PM   Best Answer