• IFSQN Active
  • 7 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• Philippines
    Philippines

Posted 10 January 2015 - 03:07 AM

Hi,

I am a newbie here. I've been learning a lot from this forum more than the seminar i took for HACCP.

However, i need help in one requirements for my HACCP.

What does Identify and confirm the scope of the process mean?

If my first process in my process flow chart is the procurement of raw materials. Can anybody give an example of scope for this process?

I'm thought i was done making our HACCP Manual until I got a non-compliance because i have failed to indicate the scope for each process in the process flow.

Charles.C

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Moderator
  • 20,542 posts
  • 5670 thanks
Excellent

• Earth
    Earth
  • Interests:SF
    TV
    Movies

Posted 10 January 2015 - 05:47 AM

Dear ddgo,

Welcome to the Forum ! :welcome:

Yr query is slightly confusing since, IMEX, in a haccp context, “scope” typically refers to the scope of the haccp plan, albeit with respect to the “process” activities involved.

I have answered below assuming the above interpretation of "scope", if otherwise some clarification may be necessary, eg details of yr product / process / FS standard reference.

You may find this older post / surrounding thread helpful –

http://www.ifsqn.com...-a-haccp-study/

Here are a  few more examples as illustrative interpretations –

(A) The scope of the HACCP plan should be identified. The scope should describe which segment of the food chain is involved and the general classes of hazards to be addressed (e.g. Does it cover all classes of hazards or only selected classes?).

(ex Codex as per the document sc1 attached in above  linked post)