• IFSQN Active
  • 2 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 09 February 2015 - 05:26 PM

Hello IFSQN members,

I have been reader of your questions and find the IFSQN site one of the best resources I've found for practical as well as tough regulatory inquiries. I have one of my own today.

My company produces a food grade ingredient from plant based agricultural raw material. Several customers have requested a "Natural Statement". Does anyone have a clear understanding of the definition of natural? I've check on the FDA website, but it seems vague. We do use low dosage of sodium hypochlorite and peroxide for anti microbial treatment, but both are removed in the process in a wash stage. There are not residuals.

Thanks, Confused

Snookie

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 1,625 posts
  • 267 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States

Posted 09 February 2015 - 06:10 PM

Hi Bonnie and :welcome: .

I am not an expert in this field, but thought this thread might be at least interesting.  http://www.ifsqn.com...mo-labeling-us/

Think the use of "natural" is a sticky wicket or at least for retail.  Are they looking to verify that it is not synthetic? 

Posted Image
Live Long & Prosper

Mr. Incognito

"Mostly Harmless"

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 1,571 posts
  • 272 thanks
Excellent

• Earth
    Earth

Posted 09 February 2015 - 06:16 PM

:welcome: to IFSQN.

It's kind of hard to look up what you are looking for without knowing exactly what you make.

I'd think you might need to look up some sort of standard of identity for your product in the CFR and see if it exists.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Mr. Incognito

:tardis:

Mr. Incognito is a cool frood who can travel the width and breadth of the galaxy and still know where his towel is.

reyoung3

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 1 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States