• IFSQN Associate
  • 10 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• Antigua and Barbuda
    Antigua and Barbuda

Posted 11 February 2015 - 01:15 PM

Hi Food Safety friends,

I am new to the bottled water industry. My company uses ozone to disinfect our purified water and since ozonated water is passing through all lines, there are no sanitation procedures in place for the bottling lines.

Is the fact that ozonated water is passing through the lines sufficient cleaning?

Thanks

Allison

fgjuadi

Grade - PIFSQN

• Banned
  • 898 posts
  • 203 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States

Posted 11 February 2015 - 02:16 PM

You should do some micro testing on the lines.  It's really the only way to tell if your cleaning is effective. 

When I worked at a bottled water plant, we cleaned when our micro results started showing an uptick from the baseline instead of on a regular schedule (of course maximum time between CIPs was set, and if we noticed mirco staying healthy for much longer, we would adjust our times)

.--. .- -. - ... / --- .--. - .. --- -. .- .-..

rosynella

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Associate
  • 10 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• Antigua and Barbuda
    Antigua and Barbuda

Posted 11 February 2015 - 06:29 PM

We do daily HPC and Total Coliform testing and only have problems when the Ozone generator is malfunctioning (which is seldom).

So would this indicate that the ozone disinfectant is sufficient?

When you did clean the lines, what did you use?

brett.roeller@gmail.com

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 1 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• Earth
    Earth

Posted 11 February 2015 - 07:35 PM

Its all based on the micro and analytic testing and as long as you have a secondary sanitation method as the back up, and can quantitativally verify that your product and equipement is sterile you should be good.   If you are going to not have a secondary sanitation method, I suggest testing more often as validation.

fgjuadi

Grade - PIFSQN

• Banned
  • 898 posts