• Quick Navigation
Photo

Sending "Cooking lessons" in a box. Need compliance help.

Share this

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic
- - - - -

UChef

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 3 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 14 September 2015 - 03:08 PM

Hello! I'm a chef and own a start-up called UChef. The service will deliver mini-culinary lessons in a box via mail. Sort of similar to the delivery system of Plated, Blue Apron and Hello Fresh but the business model is more focused on delivering an experience as opposed to a convenience product. You can get a better jist of the venture here if you'd like:  www.charlottemagazine.com/Blogs/Dine-Dish/August-2015/I-Chef-UChef/

We will not ship anything perishable, so that eliminates a few Food Code headaches. My main question right now has to do with physical bags. I know I need to get bags approved by the FDA for food storage, but do they need to be sealed-sealed, as opposed to just a zip top bag? Also, I will be using a pick-and-pack logistics warehouse to process these orders. Does this shipment facility need to be a food code approved entity. They will not be portioning food such as flour etc, into the bags them selves. Everything they need to included in the box will come to the warehouse portioned, filled, labeled and sealed.

Thank you in advance for any direction. 

Mary 

UChef

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 3 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 14 September 2015 - 03:09 PM

Also, I reside in North Carolina if that helps with regulations. 

Snookie

Grade - FIFSQN

• IFSQN Fellow
  • 1,625 posts
  • 267 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States

Posted 14 September 2015 - 05:55 PM